The Delaware Senate is the upper house of the Delaware General Assembly, the state legislature of the U.S. state of Delaware. It is composed of 21 Senators, each of whom is elected to a four-year term, except when reapportionment occurs, at which time Senators may be elected to a two-year term. There is no limit to the number of terms that a Senator may serve. The Delaware Senate meets at the Legislative Hall in Dover.

In order to accommodate the ten-year cycle of reapportionment, the terms of office of the several Senators are staggered so that ten Senators are elected to terms of two years at the first biennial general election following reapportionment, followed by two four-year terms, and eleven Senators are elected at the said election for two four-year terms, followed by a two-year term.

Like other upper houses of state and territorial legislatures and the federal U.S. Senate, the Senate can confirm or reject gubernatorial appointments to the state cabinet, commissions, boards, or justices to the Delaware Supreme Court.


Senators must be citizens of the United States, have lived in Delaware for three years, and have been a resident of their respective district for at least one year preceding their election. They must also be at least 27 years old at the time of their election.

Senate leadership

The Lieutenant Governor of Delaware serves as the President of the Senate, but only casts a vote if required to break a tie. In his or her absence, the President Pro Tempore presides over the Senate. The President Pro Tempore is elected by the majority party caucus followed by confirmation of the entire Senate through a Senate Resolution. The President Pro Tempore is the chief leadership position in the Senate. The other Senate leaders are elected by their respective party caucuses.

President of the Senate/Lieutenant GovernorBethany Hall-LongDemocraticN/A
President Pro TemDavid SokolaDemocratic8
Majority LeaderBryan TownsendDemocratic11
Majority WhipElizabeth LockmanDemocratic3
Minority LeaderGerald HockerRepublican20
Minority WhipBrian G. PettyjohnRepublican19


(Shading indicates majority caucus)
November 7, 2018[2]147210
November 7, 2022156210
Latest voting share71%29%


Below are the Senators as of the 152nd General Assembly (2022–2024), following the most recent election.

DistrictNamePartyFirst electedResidenceSeat up
1stSarah McBrideDem2020North Wilmington2026
2ndDarius J. BrownDem2018Wilmington2024
3rdElizabeth LockmanDem2018Wilmington2024
4thLaura SturgeonDem2018Brandywine Hundred2024
5thKyle GayDem2020Heatherbrooke2026
6thRuss HuxtableDem2022Lewes2024
7thSpiros MantzavinosDem2020Westgate Farms2026
8thDavid SokolaDem1990Newark2026
9thJack WalshDem2016Newport2026
10thStephanie HansenDem2017Middletown2024
11thBryan TownsendDem2012Westover Woods2024
12thNicole PooreDem2012Barbs Farm2026
13thMarie PinkneyDem2020New Castle County2026
14thKyra HoffnerDem2022Leipsic2026
15thDavid G. LawsonRep2010Marydel2026
16thEric BucksonRep2022Camden2024
17thW. Charles ParadeeDem2018Dover2024
18thDavid L. WilsonRep2018Lincoln2024
19thBrian G. PettyjohnRep2012Georgetown2026
20thGerald HockerRep2012Ocean View2026
21stBryant RichardsonRep2014Laurel2024

Past composition of the Senate

See also


  1. ^ "2022 Legislator Compensation". National Conference of State Legislatures.
  2. ^ Delaware legislators' terms begin the second Wednesday in November (i.e. the day after Election Day), even though they are not sworn in until January. Constitution of Delaware, Article II, Section 3

External links